Connecticut, like many U.S. states, follows a fault-based insurance system when it comes to determining who is responsible from a financial standpoint when it comes time to compensate for losses stemming from a car accident. In a “fault” state, as a driver, passenger, or pedestrian involved in a car accident you have certain options when trying to recover damages.
You may file a claim with your own Thompson CT car insurance company (which will then pursue reimbursement from the at-fault driver and/or his or her insurance carrier), file a claim directly with the at-fault driver’s insurance company (called a “third party claim”), or you may go to court and file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
Not all states follow “fault” auto insurance rules. There are still about a dozen states, including neighboring state, Massachusetts, that follow a “no-fault” system, which relies more heavily on insurance to cover losses associated with car accidents, regardless of who was at fault for the incident.
Minimum auto insurance requirements in Connecticut
Connecticut auto insurance policies by law must offer, at a minimum, the following benefits and coverage amounts:
- $20,000 per person if only one person is injured or killed in an accident
- $40,000 per accident if more than one person is injured or killed
- $10,000 per accident to cover property damage costs, and
- $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
These are the minimum coverage amounts required, but for expensive vehicles, or for more protection should you be involved in a serious accident, ideally more coverage should be purchased. These numbers represent the total amount the insurance company will pay for injuries or property damage (not including damage to your own vehicle) in a crash.
Thompson CT car insurance with higher limits and with other types of coverage is available. Speak to a reputable agent today.